P4P Working Group Forms Non-Profit Corporate Alliance

Structural Formalization to Pave the Way for Commercial Deployment

Jan 23, 2009 – Washington, DC -- Verizon Communications, Pando Networks, and the Distributed Computing Industry Association (www.DCIA.info), today announced that the P4P Working Group, a DCIA working group, has formalized its structure as a non-profit corporate alliance.

P4P refers to an advanced technology for accelerating peer-to-peer (P2P) distribution of content and optimizing utilization of Internet service provider (ISP) network resources in order to provide the best possible performance to end-user customers.

Doug Pasko, Senior Technologist at Verizon, and Laird Popkin, Chief Technology Officer (CTO) at Pando, who have served as co-chairs of the working group since its inception in July 2007, have been elected Co-Chairs of the Board of Directors (BOD) of the newly formed P4P Working Group Ltd. (P4PWG).

Pando Networks CTO and P4PWG Co-Chair Laird Popkin said, "The most recent round of P4P testing demonstrated substantial progress in improving content delivery performance and reducing costs. P4P adoption will be a winning proposition for consumers, content owners, and broadband network operators. The P4P Working Group's new status as a non-profit corporate alliance will allow us to implement an intellectual property rights (IPR) policy for members and move towards that goal."

Verizon Communications Senior Technologist Doug Pasko and P4PWG Co-Chair Doug Pasko added, "The second round of P4P trials again illustrated how ISPs can operate more efficiently if traffic remains on their own networks. The P4P Working Group's formal structuring will facilitate the completion of work on a final specification for P4P, which will represent its next major step towards commercial deployment."

Other Members of the P4PWG Board of Directors include Yale University's Richard Yang, Akamai's Haiyong Xie, AT&T's Steven Wright, Abacast's Jim Kott, Telefonica's Emilio Sepulveda, Solid State Networks' Rick Buonincontri, and the DCIA's Marty Lafferty.

In addition to announcing the Board of Directors, P4PWG Co-Chairs Pasko and Popkin also announced that Velocix's David Ferguson has agreed to serve as Chair of the new Interoperability Sub-Group.

Membership in the non-profit corporate alliance is open on a voluntary basis to current participants in the working group and other qualified entities. Interested parties, including P2P software distributors and ISPs, are encouraged to call               410-476-7965        or e-mail P4PWG@dcia.info for more information about joining.

Media Contacts
Verizon Communications
James Smith    908-559-3477   james.albert.smith@verizon.com

Pando Networks
Lisa Neumyer   212-343-8843   lneumyer@pando.com

DCIA / P4P Working Group
Kelly Larabee  410-476-7965   kelly@dcia.info



Home   About   Strategy   Team   Investments   Press   Contact Us   Terms of Use